Yes You Can!

Shout out to all my readers, you guys are awesome and greatly appreciated. Now that you know that, let me get into this conversation I heard the other day that bugged me out. This dialogue included someone saying that they couldn’t do something or make themselves better because of where they started from.

Let me be the first to tell you that you can always better yourself and you can always move forward if you want to and are willing to put in the work. Here’s some background about myself, I grew up in an environment where you know it wasn’t easy, there wasn’t much money, there was a lot of violence, and at every turn there was a bad decision to be made because that was all you knew. I got sucked in to this life style because I felt like there was no way out, that no one cared, and therefore, I might as well embrace the life style to get by in life.

There weren’t many role models around since everyone older who was living in the same conditions would always say to get out of this life style, but would continue to do the same things over and never change themselves. When you are young, you commonly copy what you see. Luckily as I was getting older, I realized that I did not have to stay in that current situation that I grew up in. By going to school and getting jobs here and there, I was able to educate myself, meet new people, and see more of the world. I was able to recognize the fact that no one in the world was going to just hand opportunities to me, and that I had to work hard to get things that I wanted to better myself and my living conditions.

It took me a while to understand this and to get it, but now that I have been able to make myself better and get out of the life style by working hard and surrounding myself with the likeminded, I want to encourage and show anyone who is in my past position to make a change because you can. This change could be big or small, but the situation you are in is only as bad as you make it. If you want to see it get better, then make the right moves to make it better. Plans don’t always work out as easily or as fast as you want them too, but if you are patient and determined, you can do it. You make your own fate and I’m telling you making the change is the hardest, but the payoffs are so much more rewarding. Staying humble after your success is also important, therefore, always remember where you came from and try to encourage others because you were them at one point in your journey to success.

Leave a Reply

